We cant wait to dive into these 20 sci-fi and fantasy books this summer

We cant wait to dive into these 20 sci-fi and fantasy books this summer ...

The other summer blockbuster season is upon us. Over the next four months, some of the world''s finest science fiction and fantasy books will be available, including new titles from Ken Liu, Holly Black, and Ruthanna Emrys. Plus, well-known genre-straddling writers like Akil Kumarasamy, Megan Giddings, and Georgi Gospodinov are returning with new head-scratchers.

In May, June, July, and August 2022, here are 20 of the best science fiction and fantasy books to go your way.

Elektra by Jennifer Saint (May 3)

Fans of Madeline Millers Circe and Margaret Atwoods The Penelopiad will be drawn to this reimagining of The Iliad, which zooms in on Helen of Troy''s niece, Elektra. This time, she expands the focus to include two additional women: Elektra''s mother, Clytemnestra, and her father Agamemnon''s mistress, Cassandra.

The Immortal King Rao by Vauhini Vara (May 3)

With this stunning, nuanced book about memory, capitalism, and climate change, Vauhini Vara has done just that. It tells the story of a South Indian child who becomes the world''s most powerful person first as the CEO of a technology business, then as the leader of an international corporatocracy, and gives his daughter access to his memories in a desperate attempt to save the world.

Book of Night by Holly Black (May 3)

The creator of The Spiderwick Chronicles is back with her first adult novel, which could be our own if it werent for shadow magic and the gloamists who study it. When a 28-year-old thief finds a dead man who has been torn to shreds, she embarks on a quest to find a missing magical text called Book of Night.

Georgi Gospodinov''s Time Shelter, translated by Angela Rodel (May 10) is a film about her time shelter.

This Ballardian novel, Gospodinov''s third translation from Bulgarian to English, is a research project for Alzheimers patients at a Swiss health clinic where each floor is designed to re-create a different decade from the 20th century. Things begin to fall when whole countries decide to begin living in a particular decade from the past. (France, however, picks the 80s.)

Hidden Pictures by Jason Rekulak (May 10)

Mallory Quinn, a newly sober nanny, who spends time with a 5-year-old boy, and finds out how she feels at first (don''t they always?) until he sees a picture of a man dragging the body of a woman through the woods. Mallory wonders if he is channeling something supernatural to resolve a cold case.

Chelsea Abdullah''s Stardust Thief (May 17)

In this fast-paced fantasy adventure inspired by many stories from One Thousand and One Nights, Loulie al-Nazari, a criminal magic smuggler and the alias of Midnight Merchant, finds an ancient artifact with the potential to destroy every jinn in the world.

Sally Oliver''s Garden of Earthly Bodies (June 7)

In this first novel from Sally Oliver, traumatized women begin getting thick, dark hair along their spines. Marianne, grieving about her sister''s death, joins other afflicted women at an experimental treatment facility in the Welsh wilderness, where her past and present intercede and where her head begins to fall apart.

Ordinary Monsters by J.M. Miro (June 7)

Ordinary Monsters, a dark historical fantasy set in Victorian London and Meiji-period Tokyo, is about a British detective who is tasked with keeping two supernaturally powered children safe from a man made of smoke. At nearly 700 pages, its a door-stopper with a labyrinthine story and a large cast of characters.

The City Inside by Samit Basu (June 7)

Reality Controllers like Joey are directing livestreams of South Asian celebrities in the near future. When she hires an assistant named Rudra, the strangest scion of a wealthy Delhi family, they discover a corporate conspiracy that shatters their beliefs.

Speaking Bones by Ken Liu (June 21)

Ken Liu''s fourth and final book in his Dandelion Dynasty series, best known for establishing the silkpunk genre with 2015''s The Grace of Kings, will be returned. This time, Pekyu Takval and Princess Thera must navigate two conflicts to resolve the fate of the Seven Islands of Dara.

Eddie Robson''s Drunk on All Your Strange New Words (June 28)

In this locked-room mystery set in the near future, Knives Out meets The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, where the human translator for an alien diplomat gets caught up in a murder investigation. Eddie Robsons is a writer and writer of Doctor Who''s dramas, so there''s a little bit of hardy humor to it.

T. Kingfisher Moves the Dead (July 12)

Before Mike Flanagans'' next Netflix adaptation of the original text, Kingfishers retelling of Edgar Allan Poes is a great way to remember the story. It includes mushrooms, possessed animals, and a variety of ghosts that might not be ghosts.

Ruthanna Emrys'' Half-Built Garden (July 26)

Emrys'' first novel since the Innsmouth Legacy series is a first-contact story driven by climate change. In the late 21st century, aliens land in the Chesapeake Bay and offer humanity an escape from what they perceive to be a dreadful planet. Our species must decide whether to leave home or stick it out.

The Sleepless by Victor Manibo (August 2)

What if you never needed to sleep again? Sounds great, but Manibos'' debut novel describes how a sleepless reporter who is murdered is ensnared in a murder investigation, and at the same time, he cannot remember anything from the crime. After getting off on his own investigation, he discovers the truth behind sleeplessness, and it is not good.

The Book Eaters by Sunyi Dean (August 2)

The title isn''t a metaphor; this novel focuses on people who eat books. They call themselves The Family, they live on the Yorkshire Moors, and they punish children by making them eat dictionaries. It''s true that the authors subsist on the stories, which becomes a problem when one of them gets a taste for the finest story vessel of all the human brain.

40 by Alan Heathcock (August 2)

Heathcocks'' bold and bizarre novel about faith, family, and the future is set in a civil war between the US government and a faction of revolutionary fundamentalists. When a young soldier named Mazzy Goodwin awakes in a crater to discover wings sprouting from her back, she is not sure if it''s a miracle or a biological experiment, but it gives her the opportunity to become a wartime leader and discover her missing sister.

Face by Joma West (August 2)

In Joma Wests'' debut novel, skin color is a choice based on some Gattaca-level genetic technology, which allows everyone (who can afford it) to create their own perfect faces. Almost every skin-to-skin contact is considered obscenious, while one wealthy family''s struggle for happiness turns into a nightmare worthy of a Black Mirror episode.

Megan Giddings might fly the women (August 9).

The rich author of Lakewood envisions a dystopia where witches are real a fact that the authoritarian state uses to criminalize women''s singlehood after the age of 30, and to prosecute Black women for the slightest suspicions. When Josephine Thomas goes on a quest to honor her mothers last wish, she discovers a whole country that is different.

The First Binding by R.R. Virdi (August 16)

The First Binding, a South Asian-inspired epic fantasy, has been compared to Patrick Rothfuss The Name of the Wind for good reasons, and is an 800-page series-starter, directed in the first person by a legendary, sharp-tongued warrior who has demonstrated magic. No matter how high the cover art is, you can see it as well.

Akil Kumarasamy Meets Us by the Roaring Sea on August 23

Half Gods, the author of a 2018 short-story collection, explores an AI trainer in the near future, Ada, who in her spare time translated a Tamil manuscript written by a group of female medical students in the 1990s. The story alternates between Adas encounters with future technology and the medical students in order to understand their patients.