How The Ranking System Works in Wild Rift

How The Ranking System Works in Wild Rift ...

Wild Rift is fun to play casually, although many players want to see how they compare to other gamers. This is why Riot! is making modifications to Wild Rift''s ranking system. However, don''t be afraid. Here are a few things you should know before starting your first game.

You''ll need to know the various ranks, how to progress through them, and the various rules that govern that progression. It is simple to start a game and play, but only the finest can reach the top rank of Challenger. Fortunately, with this extensive analysis of Wild Rift''s ranking system, you will be there in no time.

Kim Dailey updated the Wild Rift ranking system on May 4th, 2022. Specifically, the long-awaited implementation of character restrictions and the removal of the Promotional Series, which was dissuading many players'' competitive advantage. So today, we''re back to review the inter-works of the Wild Rift ranking system and how it works in 2022.

What Are The Rankings?

There are ten Wild Rift ranks, which you may begin climbing by participating in ranked matches. However, with Season 3, the developers made it so players are additionally required to own 16 Legends before embarking into the ranked series. This is perhaps to account for the upcoming character restrictions that players may now come up against.

This is a brief list of Wild Rift''s top five:

Tier Rank
1 Iron
2 Bronze
3 Silver
4 Gold
5 Platinum
6 Emerald
7 Diamond
8 Master
9 Grand Master
10 Challenger

When you win a game, you will earn something called a Ranked Mark. A certain number of Ranked Marks are required to progress to the next level. However, earned marks may be lost by losing matches, and you may even be demoted if you lose too many Rank Marks.

Taking into account that ranks are likely to change after the season ends, based on your position at the time. Lower ranks will not have to worry about demotions or rank shifts between seasons as competitors in rank Gold and below will start where they left off the previous season.

Each division in the Iron through Emerald ranks has four individual divisions, so you must progress through each rank''s divisions before finishing the next level. You will need to earn anywhere from two to five Ranked Marks per division, increasing as you progress further up the ranks.

The number markings for each division are the following:

Rank Qualifying Ranked Marks
Iron 2
Bronze 3
Silver 3
Gold 4
Platinum 4
Emerald 5

Placement Matches

After finishing the Placement Matches, you''ll be placed in your starting rank. There are ten things in total, and after your first game, you''ll be given a rank.

While you compete in the Placement Matches, you will not lose any Ranked Marks. There are also two Ranked Marks for each match you win.

If you wanted to be promoted to the next rank rather than between divisions, you needed to achieve so many victories instead of losses during a Promotion Series.

These ranking hurdles were slowed for Master thanks to Challenger rankings, but now no one has to worry about promotion matches! Instead of generating an enhanced sense of competition as they were intended to do, the devs found the extra significance on the Promo Series acted rather as a deterrent to players throughout the ranks. So they have completely eliminated the mechanic.

Victory Points

The currency transitions from Ranked Marks to Victory Points. Additionally, you will need to ensure you are consistently participating in ranked matches in order to maintain your ranking. These points will also be removed once you are inactive.

In terms of winning, Victory Points are a little different from Ranked Marks, as the reward system focuses more on the individual player''s ability. It also measures points on victories and losses, but also on your performance throughout the match. This prevents players from being taken to these more elite tiers by piggybacking on their overall performance, as their stats will now hold them back even if their team won the match.

The rate at which you''ll lose Victory Points due to your inactivity is based on a seven-point system. To keep this number above zero, you must keep your activity score away. This is just one reason players are switching to Wild Rift.

After Diamond, the ranking is based on total Victory Points. When you enter the Master tier, you will be shown which percentage of players you have ranked above, and once you enter the Grandmaster or Challenger, you will see your actual ranked position on the leader boards.

How Does Ranked Fortitude Work?

Ranked Fortitude, a game that rewards Iron through Emerald for playing well, has been included in League of Legends: Wild Rift. Each rank has a cap for how much fortitude you can earn.

Is it possible to earn Ranked Fortitude in three ways?

  • Win Streaks
  • Continuing to play even when a teammate goes AFK
  • Playing well

The rankings for the Ranked Fortitude are set as follows:

Rank Ranked Fortitude Cap
Iron 200
Bronze 300
Silver 400
Gold 600
Platinum 800
Emerald 1,000

This is a huge selling point for most players, which is why this game had nearly three million downloads in a day. However, there is more incentive to play well than just losing your earnings. The benefits start when you fill the Ranked Fortitude bar halfway.

Ranked Fortitude acts as a buffer, activating Loss Protection. This means if you lose a game, you won''t lose a Ranked Mark. Instead, losing a match will remove half of your Ranked Fortitude points, meaning you will need to improve the fortitude gauge once more to ensure greater loss protection.

This deduction is voluntary and can no longer be halted, therefore you can''t choose between sacrificing the Ranked Fortitude or giving up a Ranked Mark. However, there are also benefits for an abundance of Ranked Fortitude. It''s well worth it to use up all of your points to do so.

Are There Character Bans?

Character prohibitions were initially limited in ranked matches, allowing players to use certain OP legends to easily win matches and dominate the rankings. Fortunately, Season 3''s patch 2.4 brought character restrictions into Wild Rift''s ranking divisions in an attempt to level the playing field.

This means that two players will not have the opportunity to declare a character ban. Currently, Riot! has allowed players to claim three character bans per team. This means that two players will not have the option to declare a character ban. This is a way to help those who are not familiar with playing the legend roster.

The developers have decided to make a choice of a legend a strategic move while ensuring that no two teams on the team can choose the same legend. Picks will alternate between teams so you and your teammates have the chance to avoid the curveballs the opposing team may throw during the selection process, such as selecting a Support character.

What Are The Queues?

The majority of people in this ranked system don''t want to play too big, as you may queue for ranked games with one, two, three, and five players. However, unfortunately, parties of four will only have to play normal games as they will not be able to participate in a ranked match.

To join a ranked game with your fellow players, you must be within one rank tier, and that goes for everyone in your party. If you are Silver, then you may play with either Bronze or Gold friends, but not at the same time as Bronze and Gold tiers.


Each season, players will receive new rewards based on their final or current rank. Once the season progresses, a border will appear around your icon and loading screen to show where you stand.

If you play at least one game, you will need to check their website for current rewards. However, you have a reason to get a participation icon.