A new Mario Kart 8 discovery suggests future DLC maps

A new Mario Kart 8 discovery suggests future DLC maps ...

Mario Kart, the most popular Nintendo series, may get more tracks in a future iteration, according to a researcher. According to the discovery, several prefetch files have been added to Mario Kart 8 Deluxe. These tracks generally match music from many older, classic Mario Kart games.

These prefetch files do not quite depict the whole picture, especially since they only contain a few seconds of the track itself, rather than the entire track itself. Several dedicated enthusiasts have picked up on similar music they have seen in other circuits.

This discovery was initially made by a YouTube user going by recordreader. Another YouTube user going by BL posted the entire prefetch file, showing the initial few seconds of each track, and the fanbase picked up on them very quickly.

These appear to be the prefetch files that were created for, and may be included as future DLC sometime someday, according to fans. The whole video can be seen here.

  • Amsterdam Drift
  • Bangkok Rush
  • Berlin Byways
  • Boo Lake/Broken Pier
  • London Loop
  • Los Angeles Laps
  • Maple Treeway
  • Merry Mountain
  • Peach Gardens
  • Rainbow Road
  • Rock Rock Mountain
  • Singapore Speedway
  • Sunset Wilds
  • Vancouver Velocity
  • Waluigi Stadium/Wario Colosseum

Each of these tracks is similar to circuits from earlier Mario Kart games, although their presence is a little hazy due to fan speculation and community discovery, but looking at the files, it's safe to say they'll be released soon.

Although there is a lot that we do not know about these circuits and their music tracks, what we do know is that an earlier datamine had some useful features. These tracks have a retro prefix attached to their prefetch file names, such as GBA, DS, and 3DS, among others.

Another set of tracks has just been released recently. These tracks include a few classics such as GBA Snow Land and DS Waluigi Pinball, as well as upcoming ones. Players may purchase the Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Booster Course Pass, which will eventually release a total of 48 DLC tracks.