Dates and Times for Modern Warfare 2 have been confirmed

Dates and Times for Modern Warfare 2 have been confirmed ...

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 will be released later this year, but you may get a chance to try it out for the first time with the Open Beta.

The wait for PS4, Xbox, and PC gamers to get their hands on the game is soon over. Thanks to the MW2 Open Beta in September, fans will be able to test it before they buy.

But some lucky fans don't have to wait that long either. After all, we just got our first in-game glimpse of Modern Warfare 2's DMZ mode from early playtesters.

Modern Warfare 2 Beta Release Date & Time

The MW2 Open Beta will begin on Friday, September 16 at 10 AM PT, the first day of play on PlayStation. The whole Beta schedule is as follows:

Weekend One (PlayStation Exclusive):

  • PlayStation Early Access September 16-17
  • PlayStation Open Beta September 18-20

Weekend Two (Crossplay):

  • PC + Xbox Early Access & PlayStation Open Beta 2 September 22-23
  • All Platforms Open Beta September 24-26

To ensure you have sufficient time to play, here's how to get early access to the Modern Warfare 2 Open Beta.

Here's when all the MW2 Betas should be up on the days listed above:

  • 10 AM PT (Los Angeles)
  • 11 AM MDT (Denver)
  • 12 Noon CDT (Chicago)
  • 1 PM ET (New York)
  • 6 PM BST (London)

After midnight and therefore the following day, the following time zones will technically receive the Beta:

  • 1 AM SGT (Singapore)
  • 1 AM CST (Beijing)
  • 2 AM JST (Tokyo)

The Modern Warfare 2 Beta will be available to all players on Monday, September 26. Activision hasn't disclosed when the trial will be terminated, but we expect it to start at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST.

The MW2 Open Beta will be available for ten days in total, at least for those who have PlayStation Early Access. Xbox and PC users who have Early Access will be entitled to five days of the Beta.

PlayStation users who have not received Early Access will still be able to participate in the Open Beta for 8 days. However, Xbox and PC gamers will only get three days of MW2 action by default.

Will Infinity Ward prolong the open beta of Modern Warfare 2?

The Modern Warfare 2 Open Beta may be extended by Infinity Ward, allowing gamers to have more time to play. After all, the second Beta weekend in Call of Duty Vanguard ended up being extended for two additional days.

After followers on Twitter successfully solved a series of coded messages sent by Activision, the Black Ops Cold War Open Beta received a 24-hour extension.

Neither of these games was developed by Infinity Ward, a studio that did not extend the Modern Warfare 2019 Beta. Only time will tell whether the MW2 Beta receives the support fans desire.

Are you interested in picking up a new version of the game? Check out all the Modern Warfare 2 editions and their bonuses here!