The Rings of Power will be released in two seasons in the Lord of the Rings

The Rings of Power will be released in two seasons in the Lord of the Rings ...

Amazon Prime's new Lord of the Rings series will premiere with two episodes on September 1 at 9 p.m. EDT/ 6 p.m. PDT. After that, the episodes will continue on a more regular one-a-week schedule, dropping at 12 a.m. EDT on Fridays and 9 p.m. PDT on Thursdays. The first season will be eight episodes, culminating on October 14.

The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power is set in the Second Age of Middle-earth, thousands of years before the events of J.R. Tolkiens' Lord of the Rings trilogy. After all, elves live for a long time, and wizards are basically demigods. Galadriel (Morfydd Clark) and Elrond (Robert Aramayo) are already known to make appearances on the show.