In MTG Dominaria United, a cycle of six 2-color pain lands is returning

In MTG Dominaria United, a cycle of six 2-color pain lands is returning ...

With the departure of four sets of dual lands, the Magic: The Gathering fall Standard rotation is bringing a significant change to mana bases.

Dominaria United's next game will be introduced in a rematch, with Zendikar Rising, Kaldheim, and Adventures in the Forgotten Realms being phased out. Standard will begin with Innistrad: Midnight Hunt.

Dominaria United is reprinting six two-color pain lands at Rare to compensate for the loss of important lands such as Ice Age and Apocalypse. Originally printed in Ice Age and Apocalypse, these lands tap for two different colors for one damage, or tap for a colorless without having to suffer damage.

Dominaria United contains six cards from the 10-card cycle. It's unclear if the remaining pieces will be included in Brothers War or a future set.

Here are six pain lands that will be reprinted in Dominaria United:

  • Adarkar Wastes
  • Caves of Koilos
  • Karplusan Forest
  • Shivan Reef
  • Sulfurous Springs
  • Yavimaya Coast

The Dominaria United cycle includes three allied color lands and three enemy color lands. These lands will fit very comfortably into Standard and will quickly become one of the finest two-color options for lands.

Pain lands coming untapped is what makes these lands preferable in some strategies to the slow lands from Midnight Hunt or gain lands from Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty. These will become the only multicolor lands that will enter untapped in the format.

Pain lands will be a permanent, easy-to-remove option, which might further empower these decks in Magic Arenas eternal format.

Dominaria United is available digitally on September 1 and a worldwide tabletop version on September 9.