The cast of Grey's Anatomy will return for season 19 next year

The cast of Grey's Anatomy will return for season 19 next year ...

There are spoilers for Grey's Anatomy to follow.

Who will return to Grey Sloan Memorial for season 19 of Grey's Anatomy has been revealed.

Ellen Pompeo's Dr Meredith Grey will appear in just eight episodes during the first episode of ABC's long-running medical drama, with the actress maintaining an executive producer role for the entire season.

Scott Speedman, who re-signed as Meredith's love interest Dr Nick Marsh in season 18 after guest starring in season 14, has also switched to series recurring status, having already honoured his one-year series regular contract (via Deadline).

Following their disappointment last season, fans can expect the romance between Speedman and Meredith to return for at least a few episodes in the new installment.

Richard Flood, who portrayed Dr Cormac Haynes from 2019 to 2022, is among the people who have left Grey Sloan behind for the good. He will not be returning to the show after leaving the program earlier this year.

Chandra Wilson and James Pickens Jr, as well as other series regularsKevin McKidd, Kim Raver, Camilla Luddington, Caterina Scorsone, Kelly McCreary, Chris Carmack, Jake Borelli, and Anthony Hill, will all return full-time, joined by a new quintet of surgical residents.

Pompeo discussed the possibility of bringing the Shondaland show to a close without her character Meredith in May.

"We'll see," she told ET Online, adding: "Continually attempting to reinvent the program is the challenge at this point, and listen, the program speaks to a lot of people, and the young people enjoy the program."

Season 19 of Grey's Anatomy will air on ABC in the United States on October 6, while seasons 1-17 are available on Disney+, while season 18 is available through Sky Witness and NOW.