Roger Deakins is returning to the Oscar conversation thanks to ASC nominations

Roger Deakins is returning to the Oscar conversation thanks to ASC nominations ...

IndieWire's initial Best Cinematography predictions for the 2023 Oscars, which were originally published on January 9, 2023, are regularly updated throughout the awards season, and we'll republish previous versions (such as this one) to keep readers updated on the progress of the Oscar race.

Nomination voting will be held from January 12 to January 24, 2023, and official Oscar nominations will be announced on January 2 to 7 on ABC. The 95th Oscars telecast will be broadcast on Sunday, March 12 and air live at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT.

The Race's State

Roger Deakins ("Empire of Light"), Greig Fraser ("The Batman"), Claudio Miranda ("Top Gun: Maverick"), and Mandy Walker ("Elvis") were nominated for the 37th Annual ASC Awards on January 9 at the Beverly Hilton.

The Oscar nominee for the Best Picture has won seven out of the last 11 years, including Fraser for "Dune" in 2022. Matt Reeves' "The Batman," with a noir flair, is expected to beat out fellow Oscar nominee Miranda ("Life of Pi") for Best Picture. Miranda took us aboard the fighter jets with Tom Cruise's Maverick, thanks to the innovative Sony Rialto Camera Extension System.

If Deakins is nominated for Sam Mendes' underappreciated '80s comedy 'Empire of Light,' Walker will be the first woman to envision the city as a carnival-like period landscape.

Janusz Kamiski ("Saving Private Ryan," "Schindler's List"), who might still win an Oscar for his colorful, multi-layered period film "The Fabelmans," as he did last year with "West Side Story," which was also snubbed by the ASC, and Linus Sandgren, who won the Best Cinematography Award for "La La Land," for his period comedy "Amsterdam."

"All Quiet on the Western Front," a buzzy German film that's been nominated for an international film Oscar, and Larkin Seiple for the Daniels' multiverse adventure "Everything Everywhere All at Once," which is becoming a Best Picture contender for A24, was topped by another film that failed to make the ASC cut: "Nope."


Claudio Miranda (“Top Gun: Maverick”) Janusz Kamiski (“The Fabelmans”) Darius Khondji (“Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths”) Mandy Walker (“Elvis”) Roger Deakins (“Empire of Light”)


Greig Fraser (“The Batman”) Robert Richardson ("Emancipation”) James Friend (“All Quiet on the Western Front”) Hoyte van Hoytema (“Nope”) Larkin Seiple (“Everything All at Once”) Linus Sandgren ("Babylon") Russell Carpenter ("Avatar: The Way of Water")