The Overwatches 2023 World Cup will feature 36 teams and online qualifiers across three regions

The Overwatches 2023 World Cup will feature 36 teams and online qualifiers across three regions ...

For the first time since 2019, the Overwatch World Cup will be held later this year, and Blizzard Entertainment has announced the format for the online qualifiers for the main event.

The whole tournament will include 36 teams from three regions throughout the world, with the eligible countries and regions "selected based on Overwatch 2 player population data."

The World Cup Trials will begin next month, and the competition committees for each region will be responsible for organizing additional tryouts in March, before finalizing a roster of seven players in April.

According to Blizzard, teams from each regional group will meet up in June to win one of 16 spots in a LAN finals tournament scheduled to take place in the fall of 2023. But China's fate will play out differently as Blizzard games are recently banned from that region.

“A Team from China will receive a direct invitation to the Group Stage given the current situation in China, including two second place finishes in the last two Overwatch World Cups,” said Blizzard. The tryouts procedure in China will be different from that in other countries/regions. We will share more information directly with players in the China region.

The entire list of conferences and the countries/teams within them can be found below.

The Americas Conference (AMER)

  • Canada
  • Costa Rica
  • Guatemala
  • Mexico
  • Puerto Rico
  • United States
  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Peru

The European and Middle East Conference (EMEC) is a joint conference involving Europe and the Middle East.

  • Belgium
  • France
  • Great Britain
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Spain
  • Germany
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sweden
  • Turkey

The Asia-Pacific Conference (APAC) is a conference organized by the United Nations.

  • Chinese Taipei
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Philippines
  • South Korea
  • Australia
  • India
  • Malaysia
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • Thailand