How to See All Chucky Films in Order: Every Child's Play and Chucky Movie in Order

How to See All Chucky Films in Order: Every Child's Play and Chucky Movie in Order ...

Chuckythe is one of the most famous horror villains ever created, and he is instantly recognisable to non-horror users. Freddy Krueger, Michael Myers, and Jason Voorhees are frequently spotted alongside other slasher legends, making him one of American horror's most prolific villains.

Chucky's whims are often a problem, so how do you observe him in good order? Here's all you need to know about it.

What are the main points of the Child's Play and Chucky films?

In 1988, the first Child's Play film was released in cinemas. Ray, a notorious serial murderer who tries to escape being captured by Detective Mike Norris, is introduced at the last moment by chanting a voodoo chant that transfers his essence into a nearby Good Guy doll.

Chucky, a miniature doll that was once called Andy Barclay, is now owned by Andy. However, the boy and his mother must fight to keep Charles from causing chaos. This becomes even worse when Charles discovers that his doll form is unstable and that the only way to guarantee his future is to keep his mind alive until he discovers his true identity, the young Andy Barclay. In both Child's Play 2, and Child's Play 3, Chucky continues the pair's game of cat and mouse.

Starting with the fourth film in the franchise, Bride of Chucky, things go in a more campy horror comedy direction. The bride sees Chucky putting his ex-girlfriend Tiffany's soul into a bride doll, forcing the couple to go on a road trip to try and find an amulet that will bring both of them back to their human forms. Todd changes the format again, with Tiffany and Chucky's son Gentle Glen returning to life so that he may better understand them. The pair then embarks

Curse of Chucky and Cult of Chucky see the original killer doll return to brutally settle his old scores, though these films were still shorter than the initial Child's Play installments.

Chucky's How to Watch the Franchise in Order

The Chucky franchise's watch order is tricky because, midway through its original cinematic line, it's difficult to remember which order the films were released in. However, unlike a lot of large horror franchises, the Chucky films have a fairly simple chronology, with a few minor exceptions.

So, if you want to watch the original franchise in both chronological and release order, you should watch the films in the following order:

  • Child’s Play (1988) – Set in 1988
  • Child’s Play 2 (1990) – Set in 1990
  • Child’s Play 3 (1991) – Set around 1998
  • Bride of Chucky (1998) – Set in 1998
  • Seed of Chucky (2004) – Set in 2004 (epilogue set in 2009)
  • Curse of Chucky (2013) – Set in 2013
  • Cult of Chucky (2017) – Set in 2017 

The Chucky TV series will be launched in 2021. According to creator Don Mancini, this television show is still within the original franchise's timeline, starting "two to three weeks" after Cult of Chucky. Though it should be noted that there are still issues with this statement, as a few of the show's background details aren't in the 2017 setting, but this issue doesn't affect the watch order.

In 2019, a Child's Play reboot film was released, which is set in a different timeline than the previous ones, and acts as its own standalone film. This is doubly true now that the Chucky TV show has been released, as it has practically rendered that new timeline obsolete, and it appears unlikely that this 2019 film will be given a follow-up.