Here's how to play League of Legends World Championship in 2022

Here's how to play League of Legends World Championship in 2022 ...

Every competitive League of Legends region has completed the 2022 Summer Split, the teams have been selected, and the community is eagerly anticipating the 2022 World Championship, which will begin at the end of September.

The tournament will feature 24 teams from across the world as they travel to North America from Thursday, Sept. 29 to Saturday, November 5. The action should begin and continue until the last standing team wins the Summoners Cup.

This article will teach you all you need to know about the Worlds 2022 format.

Play-in stage

The play-in stage will run from September 29 to October 4, featuring 12 teams from across the world:

  • DRX
  • Royal Never Give Up
  • Fnatic
  • MAD Lions
  • Evil Geniuses
  • Beyond Gaming
  • DetonatioN FocusMe
  • Saigon Buffalo
  • LOUD
  • Chiefs Esports Club
  • Istanbul Wildcats
  • Isurus

These 12 teams have been split into two groups of six, in which they will compete against every other team in their group. The top team in each group will automatically advance to the main group stage of the event, while the third and fourth-place teams will play a best-of-five series.

The four advancing teams from the play-ins will then be randomly drawn into the four groups waiting for them in the group stage.

Group stage

These four teams from the play-in stage will join the 12 teams that automatically qualified through winning the 2022 Summer Split in their region, through Championship Points, or through placement in the playoff stages. The teams currently in the group stage are:

  • Cloud9
  • 100 Thieves
  • G2 Esports
  • Rogue
  • T1
  • Gen.G
  • Edward Gaming
  • JD Gaming
  • Top Esports
  • GAM Esports
  • CTBC Flying Oyster

Every squad will play against each team in their group twice until the tournament's final knockout stage, where the competition will be fiercer than ever before.

Knockout stage

The eight best teams from the group stage have now qualified for the knockout round, which includes the quarterfinals, semifinals, and grand finals. Matchups are first decided through a draw following the last day of the group stage. After this, the tournament moves into a single-elimination bracket, with all matches consisting of best-of-five series. The team that stands tall at the end will be crowned the 2022 League of Legends world champions on Saturday, November 5.