In Hogwarts Legacy, how do you unlock Hippogriff and thestral flying mount?

In Hogwarts Legacy, how do you unlock Hippogriff and thestral flying mount? ...

To unlock flying mounts in Hogwarts Legacy, you must first complete the main story mission, The High Keep.

All players who pre-ordered Hogwarts Legacy will unlock the black Hippogriff, Caligo, while Completing The High Keep will unlock the Hippogriff Highwing for everyone.

Sepulchira, the Thestral, may be obtained by purchasing the Deluxe or Collector's Edition.

Before you unlock a Hippogriff, you must first unlock the broom in Hogwarts Legacy!

How Many Flying Mounts Are There in Hogwarts Legacy?

Three different flying mounts can be obtained in Hogwarts Legacy, two Hippogriffs, and one Thestral. They are:

  • Highwing – a white Hippogriff
  • Caligo – a black Hippogriff
  • Sepulchira – a Thestral

Highwing is the only flying mount available to every Hogwarts Legacy member. Caligo and Sepulchira are locked as a pre-order bonus and DLC purchase.

You must complete the main quest, The High Keep, to unlock Highwing, the white Hippogriff, as a flying Mount in Hogwarts Legacy.

When you finish this, you can summon Highwing while roaming the vast open world of Hogwarts Legacy!

To get the black Hippogriff mount, Caligo, from Hogwarts Legacy, you must have pre-ordered the game prior to its release date on February 10, 2023. Then, you will need to complete the main quest, The High Keep.

There is currently no other method of unlocking the Onyx Hippogriff. This means if you haven't pre-ordered Hogwarts Legacy, you are out of luck.

Sepulchira, the Thestral mount, is exclusive to Hogwarts Legacy players who have purchased the Deluxe or Collector's Edition of the game, or who have purchased the Dark Arts Pack separately.

Before you can use the High Keep, like the other mounts, you must complete The High Keep.

The Dark Arts Pack may be purchased for $19.99 / £17.99 on the PlayStation Store, Microsoft Store, or Steam.

In the Hogwarts Legacy, how do you equip and summon flying mounts?

You must pick a flying mount from your gear page to equip a Hogwarts Legacy mount.

If you wish to summon your chosen flying mount while in the open world, simply press the following button combination:

  • PlayStation: L1 + Triangle
  • Xbox: LB + Y
  • PC: Tab + 2

This is because they have the same controls as the broom!

Which Hogwarts Legacy Flying Mount is Best?

There is no 'best' flying mount. This is because Highwing, Caligo, and Sepulchira all travel at the same speed and handle exactly the same objects.

So, choose the flying mounts that you like the most.

You'll be able to fly between locations in no time, especially if you've learned how to unlock a flying mount. There's nothing stopping you from successfully completioning all of Merlin Trials in Hogwarts Legacy!

Or you may go off and collect all of the Demiguise statues in the game!