The CDL has pulled back the curtain on MW2's ranked play, including new divisions, a skill rating system revamp, and more

The CDL has pulled back the curtain on MW2's ranked play, including new divisions, a skill rating sy ...

The long-awaited mode was initially announced that Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 would have ranked play starting in January.

Here's what you should know about ranked play in MW2. From a rank system redesign to enhanced features such as Skill Rating (SR) Forgiveness and Demotion Protection, as well as the included map pool and game modes.

Ranked play is set to make a comeback, retaining many of the key features previously used in the CDL season. Players (who are at least level 16) are invited to try their luck in the four-versus-four esports-ready setting. All items you are allowed to access will be automatically unlocked when entering the mode.

Treyarch is leading the development of MW2's ranked play mode, which has been previously revealed, with the help of the Call of Duty League.

At the launch of MW2, many tweaks will be made in the game's main competitive mode, bearing in mind the learning lessons from Black Ops Cold War's league play and Vanguard's ranked play.

In MW2, ranked play, there are eight skill divisions that have their placement ranges determined by players' individual skill ratings (SR):

  • Bronze: Zero to 899 SR
  • Silver: 900 to 2,099 SR
  • Gold: 2,100 to 3,599 SR
  • Platinum: 3,600 to 5,399 SR
  • Diamond: 5,400 to 7,499 SR
  • Crimson: 7,500 to 9,999 SR
  • Iridescent: 10,000 SR minimum
  • Top 250: 10,000+ SR

With losing guaranteeing decreases, players' SR adjustments will be primarily dependent on their matches. Individual performance will also impact how much SR you gain or lose each match, but this effect is diminished in higher skill divisions.

Every skill division below Iridescent has three levels of additional SR subcategories to power through. Returning from Vanguard is the Top 250 skill division, which will now be active from the start of each season in MW2. The famous rank will once again have a public leaderboard, which will also display the CDL team affiliation and player profile for pros who have invested in the public ladder.

Another significant change to ranked play in MW2 is that all players will start out in Bronze, effectively eliminating the need for placement matches.

"Play well enough, and you will progress up through the available Skill Divisions in only a few matches," the blog concludes.

Players may combine with up to three others to play ranked play matches with friends as long as they are within range of each other's skill divisions:

  • Bronze through Platinum players can party up with no restrictions.
  • Diamond and Crimson players can only form parties with and play against other players within two skill divisions.
  • Iridescent and Top 250 players can only form parties with and play against other players within one skill division.

The highest skill division placement that players reached will be used to determine how much reward they receive as well as where they will be placed for the next season. Bronze through Crimson players will return to the skill division they started last season, while Iridescent and Top 250 players will start at Diamond level one.

Players who reach Bronze and Silver will receive an emblem, as well as two new special operator skins, an animated emblem, and a weapon charm. Iridescent and Top 250 members will also receive an animated calling card, while the No. 1 ranked play player will receive an exclusive animated calling card and emblem.

Players in MW2 ranked play will also progress from rank one to 50, although they do not change over seasons. To level up the ranks, players will need to accumulate a massive amount of stars, which are given at a one-to-one ratio for every ranked victory.

Players who have made the effort and have won in their highest skill division will be rewarded every five ranks. Other seasonal rewards may be earned by hitting seasonal win challenge milestones.

The following are the MW2 season two rank awards:

  • Rank five: “Ranked Competitor” Operator Skin Pack, one “Home” version and one “Away” version awarded for both the Male and Female CDL Operators.
  • Rank 15: Pro Issue Sidearm Blueprint, which has similar attachments to what is used at the highest level of competitive play.
  • Rank 30: New Gun Screen that tracks Ranked Play wins.
  • Rank 40: Pro Issue Combat Knife Blueprint, which is another popular competitive Secondary weapon.
  • Rank 50: “Ranked Veteran” Operator Skins (Home and Away) awarded to Male and Female CDL Operators, proof of your commitment to Ranked Play no matter your Skill Division.

There are two new features that may be implemented to deal with situations in which players leave at the start or in the middle of ranked matches.

SR Forgiveness will kick in whenever a player disconnects or quits in the middle of a match. However, if a team overcomes a number's disadvantage to win a match, they will still earn SR.

Demotion Protection, which gives players three games after progressing to a new skill division—as well as the first three matches of every season—where they can't lose any SR. Players who lose two consecutive matches will be demoted out of their skill division.

Hot Streak Flames, which are offered to players who are active in a 72-hour period, and the addition of skill division and rank icons in MW2 and Warzone 2 are also expected to be introduced at the launch.

With the release of MW2 season two on February 15, ranked play will be released.