On Steam, a new Forspoken cloak is for free, and its purrfect

On Steam, a new Forspoken cloak is for free, and its purrfect ...

Forspoken, Square Enix's divisive RPG game, has been heavily criticized for its high price, but if you took the plunge and are interested in getting some free gear, you can get a new one for Frey on Steam.

The cloak in question is 'Cat's Meow,' and may be acquired via Prime Gaming (as someone who remains far too excited about the story game, I picked it up first).

"A cloak designed with cat fanatics in mind that grants power to the wearer," according to the somewhat bare bones description, but the picture of the cloak says a thousand words.

This classic comic-inspired cloak is made from a collection of different cats, which includes black polka dots on a white background, cat food bubbles, and a black feline with rainbow lasers streaming from its eyes.

A huge pink Sphynx cat with glowing yellow eyes and more rainbows is afoot across Frey's back, and the cloak's massive black hood has 'MEOW' stamped on it in shiny black writing.

I'm in love with this outfit — and not just because I like cats. Given Frey's dislike for the questionably named furry friend Homer (it's a girl, hence the confusion) and her obsession with colorful streetwear, the look fits both nicely the character's style and looks fantastic.

The Forspoken Cat's Meow cloak must be picked up before February 16 at 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5PM GMT / 6PM CEST. Whether or not it will be removed from the store completely after that is unknown, but it's still free, so get it!

Forspoken is no longer free, therefore we have an extensive list of free Steam games. Even better, we have a list of the best free PC games in general – some of which will likely be quite cheaper than Forspoken.